. Prokofiev - Violin Concerto No. 2 (hr-sinfonieorch., Gil Shaham, S. Mälkki) ( music video ) - [5d79b37b6]

Prokofiev - Violin Concerto No. 2 (hr-sinfonieorch., Gil Shaham, S. Mälkki)

Posted by admin on Jun 4, 2019, 6:18 pm


Prokofjew: 2. Violinkonzert - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Gil Shaham - Susanna Mälkki

Sergej Prokofjew:
2. Violinkonzert g-Moll op. 63 

I. Allegro moderato 
II. Andante assai – Allegretto – Andante assai, come prima 
III. Allegro, ben marcato 

hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony 
Gil Shaham, Violine 
Susanna Mälkki, Dirigentin 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 17. Mai 2019 

Website: https://www.hr-sinfonieorchester.de ;
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/hrsinfonieorchester


The Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63, written in 1935 by Sergei Prokofiev, is a work in three movements:

Allegro moderato
Andante assai
Allegro, ben marcato

It premiered on 1 December 1935 at the Teatro Monumental in Madrid, with the French violinist Robert Soetens and the Madrid Symphony Orchestra conducted by Enrique Fernández Arbós. Prokofiev wrote it after the first performance of his Sonata for Two Violins, by Soetens and Samuel Dushkin, which pleased him greatly. Dushkin had just recently had a concerto written for him, by Igor Stravinsky, so Prokofiev did the same for Soetens. Prokofiev was on a concert tour with Soetens while he was working on the concerto, and later wrote, "The number of places in which I wrote the Concerto shows the kind of nomadic concert-tour life I led then. The main theme of the 1st movement was written in Paris, the first theme of the 2nd movement at Voronezh, the orchestration was finished in Baku and the premiere was given in Madrid."

The Spanish liked the premiere so much that they sent a delegation of musicians to thank Prokofiev afterwards.
  • Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.

Tap/Click a tab for more artist info.

Artist name tag goes to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Like / Share / Comment