BoDeans Artist Biography

as compiled by the users of
Name: BoDeans
Music Brainz ID: 84c38d3a-3400-4c28-b988-90558bb6fae0 url:
listeners: 72497

Similar Artists: The Smithereens, Big Head Todd and the Monsters, Toad The Wet Sprocket, Cracker, Gin Blossoms,
Popular Tags: rock, alternative, seen live, alternative rock, 90s,

Published/Updated: 17 Jul 2006, 00:50

Biography: The BoDeans are a rock and roll and roots rock band formed in Waukesha, Wisconsin in 1983 by Kurt Neumann (vocals & electric guitar) and Sam Llanas (vocals & acoustic guitar). In 1985, after adding a drummer and a bassist, the band signed a contract with Slash/Warner Records and recorded their first album. In the late 1980s and early 1990s, the band had several singles in the Top 40 "mainstream rock" charts. In the mid-1990s, the band had two Top 10 songs in the "Adult contemporary" charts.

In January 1987, a Rolling Stone magazine reader poll voted them Best New American Band. They have rotated through various musicians, including keyboardists Michael Ramos and Susan Julian, and drummers Rick Jeager, Kenny Aronoff, Rafael Gayol, Nick Kitsos, and most recently Kevin Leahy.

Their 1993 song "Closer to Free" was selected as the theme song to the TV series Party of Five.

The band took some time off in the late 1990s so Sam could record a solo album. Sam created Absinthe "A Good Day To Die" with the help of Milwaukee musicians Jim Eannelli (guitars and bass) and Guy Hoffman (formerly of Oil Tasters and Violent Femmes, currently of Radio Romeo). Kurt subsequently released his solo album in 2000 called Shy Dog on which he plays all the instruments.

In 2001, the 17-song compilation The Best Of BoDeans - Slash and Burn was released on London/Slash/Rhino. In 2004, they returned with new songs on Resolution released on Rounder/Zoe. A live CD, in 2005, Homebrewed: Live from the Pabst. At the end of 2005, a DVD for Homebrewed: Live from the Pabst was released.

Around January 2006, Bob Griffin left the band for unknown reasons.

In 2008 the band reunited with T-Bone Burnett and released 'Still' on their own label, He&He.
In 2010 they released Mr Sad Clown on Savoy. The band released Indigo Dreams on July 27, 2011 with an announcement via national press release coming one day later from Llanas that he would be releasing a solo disc later in the fall. Tensions within the band intensified, and August 10 Llanas was a no show for promotional appearances and shows in Colorado. August 18 the band announced Llanas' departure.
The band continued touring in support of indigo Dreams into the fall, then entered The Village in LA with John Alagia to record American Made which was released in 2012 on F&A/MRI/RED.
Summer of 2013 Kenny Aronoff rejoined the band and they continue to tour extensively. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Artist Info


Stay up to date,
follow us