So Percussion Artist Biography

as compiled by the users of
Name: So Percussion
Music Brainz ID: 60212905-02a1-4b05-a09b-c12dc85c50e7 url:
listeners: 12086

Similar Artists: Arnold Dreyblatt, Evelyn Glennie, Glenn Kotche, Jason Treuting, Victoire,
Popular Tags: experimental, percussion, ambient, minimalist, neoclassical,

Published/Updated: 25 Apr 2008, 03:11

Biography: So Percussion is an American percussion quartet based in New York City.

Comprised of members Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski, Jason Treuting, Eric Beach, and Lawson White, the group is well known for recording and touring internationally and for its work with composers such as Steve Reich, David Lang, Paul Lansky, Martin Bresnick, Steve Mackey, Fred Frith, Evan Ziporyn, and Arvo Pärt. Originally formed when the members were students of Robert van Sice at the Yale School of Music, the group also continues to play works from the standard repertoire of percussion ensemble music—including works by composers such as John Cage and Iannis Xenakis. In addition to its work with composers, So Percussion has begun to produce original music, starting with a CD/DVD project Amid the Noise that included video art created by Jenise Treuting.

So Percussion frequently collaborates with other musicians and groups from around the world, including Matmos, Kneebody, The Dirty Projectors, Trollstilt, and Dan Trueman. The group is also well known for its use of unusual and exotic instruments in performance and on recordings. Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Artist Info


Stay up to date,
follow us