Beethoven - Piano Sonata No. 16 in G major (Daniel Barenboim)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Español: Sonata para Piano nº16 en Sol mayor, Op. 31, nº1

1st Movement (Allegro vivace)
2nd Movement (Adagio grazioso)
3rd Movement (Rondo, allegretto – presto)

Work: Piano Sonata No. 16 in G major, Op. 31 No. 1
Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
Soloist: Daniel Barenhoim


Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 16 in G major, Op. 31 No. 1, was composed between 1801 and 1802. Although it was numbered as the first piece in the trio of piano sonatas which were published as Opus 31 in 1803, Beethoven actually finished it after the Op. 31 No. 2, the Tempest Sonata.

Due to his dissatisfaction with the classical style of music, Beethoven pledged to take a new path of musical composition and style. The Opus 31 works are the first examples of Beethoven's new and unconventional ideas, an attempt to make a name for himself in the annals of music history. For example, the first movement, unlike most sonata allegro forms, which the second theme of the exposition is dominant, the second theme is in B Major and minor, the mediant of the original key. Beethoven used this form in his later sonatas, like the Waldstein, Appassionata, and the Hammerklavier. It is important to take into account that these pieces were written after the famous Heiligenstadt Testament of 1802.

This sonata is light, breezy and has touches of humour and irony in its movements. Critics say that the Opus 31 works show now a more pronounced "Beethovenian" sense of style that will become more evident in later, mature works.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Beethoven
Video title: Piano Sonata No. 16 in G major (Daniel Barenboim)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 4024
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos