Berlioz - Symphonie Fantastique (hr-Sinfonieorch., cond. Orozco-Estrada)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Andrés Orozco-Estrada

I. Rêveries – Passions (Träume – Leidenschaften) 
II. Un bal (Ein Ball) 
III. Scène aux champs (Szene auf dem Lande) 
IV. Marche au supplice (Gang zum Richtplatz) 
V. Songe d'une nuit du sabbat (Traum einer Sabbatnacht) 

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra) 
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 12. Dezember 2014 

Website: ;


Symphonie fantastique: Épisode de la vie d'un artiste ... en cinq parties (Fantastical Symphony: An Episode in the Life of an Artist, in Five Parts) Op. 14, is a program symphony written by the French composer Hector Berlioz in 1830. It is an important piece of the early Romantic period. The first performance was at the Paris Conservatoire on 5 December 1830. Franz Liszt made a piano transcription of the symphony in 1833 (S. 470).

Leonard Bernstein described the symphony as the first musical expedition into psychedelia because of its hallucinatory and dream-like nature, and because history suggests Berlioz composed at least a portion of it under the influence of opium. According to Bernstein, "Berlioz tells it like it is. You take a trip, you wind up screaming at your own funeral."

In 1831, Berlioz wrote a lesser-known sequel to the work, Lélio, for actor, orchestra and chorus.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment