Brahms - Symphony No. 1 (Dohnanyi)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Johannes Brahms
Symphony No 1 in C minor, Op 68

NDR Sinfonieorchester
Christoph von Dohnanyi

Hamburg, 2007


The Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68, is a symphony written by Johannes Brahms. Brahms spent at least fourteen years completing this work, whose sketches date from 1854. Brahms himself declared that the symphony, from sketches to finishing touches, took 21 years, from 1855 to 1876. The premiere of this symphony, conducted by the composer's friend Felix Otto Dessoff, occurred on November 4, 1876, in Karlsruhe, then in the Grand Duchy of Baden. A typical performance lasts between 45 and 50 minutes.

The symphony is in four movements, marked as follows:
Un poco sostenuto – Allegro – Meno allegro (C minor, ending in C major)
Andante sostenuto (E major)
Un poco allegretto e grazioso (A-flat major)
Adagio – Più andante – Allegro non troppo, ma con brio – Più allegro (C minor - C major)
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Brahms
Video title: Symphony No. 1 (Dohnanyi)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 3744
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos