Dolly Parton - New Harvest... First Gathering (1977) (album stream)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


New Harvest... First Gathering is the 18th solo studio album by Dolly Parton, released in February 1977.

It is significant for being Parton's first self-produced album, as well as her first effort aimed specifically at the pop charts. Recorded partially in Los Angeles, it was also her first album to be recorded outside of Nashville.

In addition to her own compositions, Parton included The Temptations classic "My Girl" (sung as the gender-neutral "My Love"), and "(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher", originally a Jackie Wilson song. Though the album wasn't the blockbuster pop hit Parton had hoped it would be - though it topped the U.S. country album charts, it only reached # 77 on the pop albums charts, and its single "Light of a Clear Blue Morning" stalled at # 87 on the U.S. pop singles charts—it was fairly well received critically and one of its tracks, "Applejack" has gone to become one of Parton's best known compositions. (The album recording of the song featured an all-star lineup of country legends, including Kitty Wells, Johnny Wright, Chet Atkins, and Minnie Pearl.)

The album was nominated for a Grammy for Best Female Country Vocal for "(Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher and Higher."

One of its tracks, "You Are", was issued as a single in The Netherlands at the end of 1983, to coincide with the release of the compilation The Love Album. It surprisingly reached number one on the Dutch singles charts in December 1983/January 1984.

1. "Light of a Clear Blue Morning" 4:56
2. "Applejack" 3:26
3. "My Girl (My Love)" Smokey Robinson, Ronald White 3:47
4. "Holdin' on to You" 2:47
5. "You Are" 5:17
6. "How Does it Feel" 3:15
7. "Where Beauty Lives in Memory" 3:58
8. "(Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher and Higher" Gary Jackson, Carl Smith 2:54
9. "Getting in My Way" 2:41
10. "There"
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Dolly Parton
Video title: New Harvest... First Gathering (1977) (album stream)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Country, Album Streams
Views: 12808
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

New Music Videos