Duruflé - Requiem (cond. Ed Spanjaard)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Duruflé: Requiem - The Netherlands Radio Choir o.l.v. Ed Spanjaard - Live concert HD

Het Groot Omroepkoor o.l.v. Ed Spanjaard zingt Duruflé's 'Requiem' in het Concertgebouw te Amsterdam tijdens Het Zondagochtend Concert.

Groot Omroepkoor o.l.v. Ed Spanjaard
Virginie Verrez [mezzosopraan]
Benjamin Appl [bariton]

Opname: Het Zondagochtend Concert van 9 oktober 2016, in het Concertgebouw te Amsterdam.

Het Zondagochtend Concert is een concertreeks van NPO Radio 4, AVROTROS, Het Concertgebouw en Menzis.


Maurice Duruflé (11 January 1902 – 16 June 1986) was a French composer, organist, and teacher.

The Requiem, Op. 9, by Maurice Duruflé was published in 1947 by the French music publisher Durand. Commissioned in 1941 by the collaborationist Vichy regime, Duruflé was still working on the piece at the time of the regime's collapse in 1944, and completed it in 1947, dedicating it to the memory of his father. The work is for SATB choir with mezzo-soprano and baritone soloists. It exists in three orchestrations: one for organ alone, one for organ with string orchestra and optional trumpets, harp and timpani, and one for organ and full orchestra.

At the time of commission, Duruflé was working on an organ suite using themes from Gregorian chants. He incorporated his sketches for that work into the Requiem, which uses numerous themes from the Gregorian "Mass for the Dead." Nearly all the thematic material in the work comes from chant.

More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Duruflé
Video title: Requiem (cond. Ed Spanjaard)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 4971
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos