Dvorák - Symphony No. 7 (hr-Sinfonieorch., cond. Oundjian)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Dvorák: 7. Sinfonie - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Peter Oundjian

I. Allegro maestoso 
II. Poco Adagio 
III. Scherzo. Vivace 
IV. Finale. Allegro 

hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony 
Peter Oundjian, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 28. April 2017 

Website: http://www.hr-sinfonieorchester.de ;
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hrsinfonieorchester


Antonín Dvorák's Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70, B. 141, was completed on 17 March 1885 and first performed on 22 April 1885 at St James's Hall in London. It was originally published as Symphony No. 2.

Dvorák's work on the symphony began on 13 December 1884. Dvorák had heard and admired Johannes Brahms' new Symphony No. 3, and this prompted him to think of writing of a new symphony himself. So it was fortuitous that in that same year the London Philharmonic Society invited him to write a new symphony and elected him as an honorary member. A month later, after his daily walk to Prague railway station, he said "the first subject of my new symphony flashed in to my mind on the arrival of the festive train bringing our countrymen from Pest". The Czechs were in fact coming to the National Theatre in Prague, where there was to be a musical evening to support the political struggles of the Czech nation. He resolved that his new symphony would reflect this struggle. In doing so the symphony would also reveal something of his personal struggle in reconciling his simple and peaceful countryman's feelings with his intense patriotism and his wish to see the Czech nation flourish.
More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment