Dvorák - Symphony No. 8 (hr-Sinfonieorch. cond. Honeck)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Dvorák: 8. Sinfonie - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Manfred Honeck

I. Allegro con brio 
II. Andagio 
III. Allegretto grazioso – Molto vivace 
IV. Allegro, ma non troppo 

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra) 
Manfred Honeck, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 27. März 2015 

Website: http://www.hr-sinfonieorchester.de ;
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hrsinfonieorchester


The Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B. 163, is a symphony by Antonín Dvorák, composed in 1889 at Vysoká u Pribrame, Bohemia, on the occasion of his election to the Bohemian Academy of Science, Literature and Arts. Dvorák conducted the premiere in Prague on 2 February 1890. In contrast to other symphonies of both the composer and the period, the music is cheerful and optimistic. It was originally published as Symphony No. 4.

Dvorák composed and orchestrated the symphony within the two-and-a-half-month period from 26 August to 8 November 1889 at his summer resort in Vysoká u Pribrame, Bohemia. The score was composed on the occasion of his admission to Prague Academy and dedicated "To the Bohemian Academy of Emperor Franz Joseph for the Encouragement of Arts and Literature, in thanks for my election." Dvorák conducted the premiere in Prague on 2 February 1890.

Dvorák tried to achieve a marked difference to his Symphony No. 7, a stormy romantic work. No. 8 would be: "different from the other symphonies, with individual thoughts worked out in a new way". The Eighth is cheery and lyrical and draws its inspiration more from the Bohemian folk music that Dvorák loved.

Symphony No. 8 is performed fairly frequently, but not nearly as often as the more famous Symphony No. 9 ("From the New World"). In this regard it enjoys a similar status to the Seventh Symphony.
More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment