Elgar - Serenade for Strings (Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Elgar: Serenade for Strings - Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra - Live concert HD

Het Concertgebouw Kamerorkest speelt Elgars 'Serenade voor strijkers' in het AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert.

Concertgebouw Kamerorkest

Het programma:
Edward Elgar: Serenade voor strijkorkest

Opname: AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert, vrijdag 28 oktober 2016, in TivoliVredenburg te Utrecht.


Sir Edward William Elgar, 1st Baronet OM GCVO (2 June 1857 – 23 February 1934) was an English composer, many of whose works have entered the British and international classical concert repertoire.

The Serenade for Strings in E minor, Op. 20, is a piece for string orchestra in three short movements, by Edward Elgar.

It was written in March 1892 and first performed in private in that year, by the Worcester Ladies' Orchestral Class, with the composer conducting. It received its first public performance in Antwerp, Belgium on 21 July 1896.

It is dedicated to the organ builder and amateur musician Edward W. Whinfield, and is approximately 12 minutes in duration.

Although not formally published until 1892, the Serenade is believed to be a reworking of a suite Elgar had written some years earlier, before he had firmly set his sights on a career as a composer. Apart from the two suites called The Wand of Youth, it is therefore probably the earliest of his compositions to survive into the standard repertoire. Certainly, it has a youthful charm while at the same time displaying indications of the skills Elgar developed as he progressed towards musical maturity. It is reportedly the first of his compositions with which he professed himself satisfied.

The central Larghetto is generally accepted as containing the work's finest and most mature writing. The work remains among the most frequently performed of all his music.
More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment