Mahler - Symphony No. 2 (Auferstehung)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra -
Mariss Jansons, chief-conductor

Ricarda Merbeth, soprano
Bernarda Fink, mezzo soprano
Netherlands Radio Choir, chief-conductor Celso Antunes

The Symphony No. 2 by Gustav Mahler, known as the Resurrection, was written between 1888 and 1894, and first performed in 1895. Apart from the Eighth Symphony, this symphony was Mahler's most popular and successful work during his lifetime. It is his first major work that would eventually mark his lifelong view of the beauty of afterlife and resurrection. In this large work, the composer further developed the creativity of "sound of the distance" and creating a "world of its own", aspects already seen in his First Symphony. The work lasts around eighty to ninety minutes.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Mahler
Video title: Symphony No. 2 (Auferstehung)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 19591
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos