Mason Bates - Mothership

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


The YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011 performs Mothership by Mason Bates at the Grand Finale concert. Featuring solo improvisations by Paulo Calligopoulos on Electric Guitar, Ali Bello on Violin, Su Chang on Guzheng (zither) and John Burgess on Bass. 

Mason Bates is an American composer of symphonic music. Distinguished by his innovations in orchestration and large-scale form, Bates is best known for his expansion of the orchestra to include electronics. One of the most-performed composers of his generation, he has worked closely with the San Francisco Symphony and currently holds the position of composer-in-residence with the Chicago Symphony. 

In 2010, Bates was commissioned to write for the YouTube Symphony Orchestra 2011, an ensemble composed of musicians from around the world. His piece Mothership was performed by the London Symphony Orchestra and went on Youtube on October 11, 2010. The piece is a mixture of acoustic and electronic elements and features sections for improvisation.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment