Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 4 (Orkest van het Oosten, cond. de Vriend) (HD)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Het Orkest van het Oosten o.l.v. Jan Willem de Vriend speelt 'Symfonie nr. 4, 'Italiaanse'' van Mendelssohn tijdens de opening van seizoen 2016 - 2017 van Het Zondagochtend Concert. 

Opname: Het Zondagochtend Concert van 4 september 2016, in het Concertgebouw te Amsterdam.


The Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op. 90, commonly known as the Italian,[1] is an orchestral symphony written by German composer Felix Mendelssohn. The work has its origins (such as the composer's "Scottish/3rd Symphony" and "The Hebrides" overture) in the tour of Europe which occupied Mendelssohn from 1829 to 1831. Its inspiration is the colour and atmosphere of Italy, where Mendelssohn made sketches but left the work incomplete:

This is Italy! And now has begun what I have always thought... to be the supreme joy in life. And I am loving it. Today was so rich that now, in the evening, I must collect myself a little, and so I am writing to you to thank you, dear parents, for having given me all this happiness.

In February he wrote from Rome to his sister Fanny,
The Italian symphony is making great progress. It will be the jolliest piece I have ever done, especially the last movement. I have not found anything for the slow movement yet, and I think that I will save that for Naples.

The Italian Symphony was finished in Berlin on 13 March 1833, in response to an invitation for a symphony from the London (now Royal) Philharmonic Society; he conducted the first performance himself in London on 13 May 1833 at a London Philharmonic Society concert. The symphony's success, and Mendelssohn's popularity, influenced the course of British music for the rest of the century. The Germania Musical Society of Boston gave the first performance in the United States, on 1 November 1851, with Carl Bergmann conducting.

Mendelssohn himself, however, remained unsatisfied with the composition, which cost him, he said, some of the bitterest moments of his career; he revised it in 1834 and even planned to write alternate versions of the second, third, and fourth movements. He never published the symphony, and it appeared in print only in 1851; thus it is numbered as his 'Symphony No. 4', even though it was in fact the third he composed.

The piece is scored for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, timpani and strings. It is in four movements:
Allegro vivace (A major)
Andante con moto (D minor)
Con moto moderato (A major)
Presto and Finale: Saltarello (A minor)

The joyful first movement, in sonata form, is followed by an impression in the sub-dominant key D minor of a religious procession the composer witnessed in Naples. The third movement is a minuet in which French Horns are introduced in the trio, while the final movement (which is in the minor key throughout) incorporates dance figurations from the Roman saltarello and the Neapolitan tarantella. It is among the first large multi-movement works to begin in a major key and end in the tonic minor, another example being Brahms's first piano trio.

A typical performance lasts about half an hour.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Mendelssohn
Video title: Symphony No. 4 (Orkest van het Oosten, cond. de Vriend) (HD)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 4900
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos