Messiaen - L’Ascension (Radio Filharmonisch Orkest and Groot Omroepkoor)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)



Messiaen: L’Ascension - Radio Filharmonisch Orkest and Groot Omroepkoor - Live concert HD

Het Radio Filharmonisch Orkest en Groot Omroepkoor o.l.v. David Robertson spelen Messiaens 'L'Ascension' in het slotconcert van seizoen 2016-2017 van Het AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert.

Het Radio Filharmonisch Orkest en Groot Omroepkoor o.l.v. David Robertson

Het programma:
Olivier Messiaen - L'Ascension

Oname: AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert, vrijdag 9 juni 2017, in TivoliVredenburg te Utrecht.


Olivier-Eugène-Prosper-Charles Messiaen (December 10, 1908 – April 27, 1992) was a French composer, organist, and ornithologist, one of the major composers of the 20th century. His music is rhythmically complex; harmonically and melodically he employs a system he called modes of limited transposition, which he abstracted from the systems of material generated by his early compositions and improvisations. He wrote music for chamber ensembles and orchestra, as well as for solo organ and piano, and also experimented with the use of novel electronic instruments developed in Europe during his lifetime.

L'Ascension ("The Ascension") is a piece for orchestra, composed by Olivier Messiaen in 1932–33. Messiaen described it as "4 meditations for orchestra".

The orchestral piece is in four brief sections:
- Majesté du Christ demandant sa gloire à son Père ("The majesty of Christ demanding its glory of the Father")
- Alleluias sereins d’une âme qui désire le ciel ("Serene alleluias of a soul that longs for heaven")
- Alleluia sur la trompette, alleluia sur la cymbale ("Alleluia on the trumpet, alleluia on the cymbal")
- Prière du Christ montant vers son Père ("Prayer of Christ ascending towards his Father")
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Messiaen
Video title: L’Ascension (Radio Filharmonisch Orkest and Groot Omroepkoor)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 2173
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos