Mozart - Piano Concerto No. 23 (1st Mov.) (Vladimir Horowitz)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Horowitz plays Mozart piano concerto 23 first movement with orchestra 1986

The Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major (K. 488) is a musical composition for piano and orchestra written by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. It was finished, according to Mozart's own catalogue, on March 2, 1786, around the time of the premiere of his opera, The Marriage of Figaro. It was one of three subscription concerts given that spring and was probably played by Mozart himself at one of these. The concerto is scored for piano solo and an orchestra consisting of one flute, two clarinets, two bassoons, two horns and strings. 

It has three movements:
Allegro in A major and common time.
Adagio in F-sharp minor and 6/8 time (in later editions, the tempo is listed as Andante).
Allegro assai in A and alla breve (in later editions, the tempo is listed as Presto).

The first movement is mostly sunny and positive with the occasional melancholic touches typical of Mozart pieces in A major.


Vladimir Samoylovich Horowitz (October 1 1903 – November 5, 1989) was a Russian-American classical virtuoso pianist and minor composer. His technique and use of tone color and the excitement of his playing were and remain legendary. He is widely considered one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Mozart
Video title: Piano Concerto No. 23 (1st Mov.) (Vladimir Horowitz)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 42521
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos