Mozart - Requiem (Live @ Festival de St-Denis)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Requiem de Mozart - Live @ Festival de St-Denis

Culturebox, l'offre culturelle à la demande de France Télévisions, vous propose de revivre en replay Requiem de Mozart au Festival de St-Denis

Véritable chef-d'œuvre, cette ultime composition du génie autrichien prend une mesure particulière entre les murs de la basilique de Saint-Denis. Avec l'aide des formations musicales de Radio France et d'un quatuor vocal hors pair, le Festival de Saint-Denis prend fin sur la plus belle des notes.

Le Chœur de Radio France et l'Orchestre national de France dirigé par James Gaffigan apportent leur grande expérience pour nous communiquer toute l'émotion de cette messe des défunts. Ils seront accompagnés par quatre talentueux solistes : La soprano Marita Solberg, la mezzo-soprano Karine Deshayes, le ténor Joseph Kaiser et la basse Alexander Vinogradov.


The Requiem in D minor, K. 626, is a requiem mass by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Mozart composed part of the Requiem in Vienna in late 1791, but it was unfinished at his death on 5 December the same year. A completed version dated 1792 by Franz Xaver Süssmayr was delivered to Count Franz von Walsegg, who commissioned the piece for a Requiem service to commemorate the anniversary of his wife's death on 14 February.

The autograph manuscript shows the finished and orchestrated Introit in Mozart's hand, and detailed drafts of the Kyrie and the sequence Dies Irae as far as the first eight bars of the "Lacrymosa" movement, and the Offertory. It cannot be shown to what extent Süssmayr may have depended on now lost "scraps of paper" for the remainder; he later claimed the Sanctus and Agnus Dei as his own. Walsegg probably intended to pass the Requiem off as his own composition, as he is known to have done with other works. This plan was frustrated by a public benefit performance for Mozart's widow Constanze. She was responsible for a number of stories surrounding the composition of the work, including the claims that Mozart received the commission from a mysterious messenger who did not reveal the commissioner's identity, and that Mozart came to believe that he was writing the requiem for his own funeral.

The Requiem is scored for 2 basset horns in F, 2 bassoons, 2 trumpets in D, 3 trombones (alto, tenor & bass), timpani (2 drums), violins, viola and basso continuo (cello, double bass, and organ). The vocal forces include soprano, contralto, tenor, and bass soloists and an SATB mixed choir.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Mozart
Video title: Requiem (Live @ Festival de St-Denis)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 3252
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos