Mozart - Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201/186a (dir. James MacMillan)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Het Zondagochtend Concert 12 december 2010 

Radio Kamer Filharmonie o.l.v. James MacMillan

Mozart - Symfonie nr. 29 in A, KV 201


The Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201/186a, was completed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart on 6 April 1774. It is, along with Symphony No. 25, one of his better known early symphonies. Stanley Sadie characterizes it as "a landmark ... personal in tone, indeed perhaps more individual in its combination of an intimate, chamber music style with a still fiery and impulsive manner."


 The symphony is scored for 2 oboes, 2 horns and strings, as was typical of early-period Mozart symphonies.

There are four movements:
Allegro moderato, 2/2
Andante, 2/4
Menuetto: Allegretto – Trio, 3/4
Allegro con spirito, 6/8

The first movement is in sonata form, with a graceful principal theme characterized by an octave drop and ambitious horn passages. The second movement is scored for muted strings with limited use of the winds, and is also in sonata form. The third movement, a minuet, is characterized by nervous dotted rhythms and staccato phrases; the trio provides a more graceful contrast. The energetic last movement, another sonata-form movement in 6/8 time, connects back to the first movement with its octave drop in the main theme.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Mozart
Video title: Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201/186a (dir. James MacMillan)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 16013
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos