Popov - Chamber Symphony

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Popov - Chamber Symphony

Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest & Rotterdam Symphony Chorus o.l.v. Valery Gergiev:

Popov - Kamersymfonie

Opname van 15 september 2017, Gergiev Festival Rotterdam


The Septet in C major, Op. 2, later retitled Chamber Symphony, is a chamber music composition by Gavriil Popov. Written in 1927, it established the young composer's reputation in the Soviet Union.

The work is scored for flute, trumpet, clarinet, bassoon, violin, cello and double bass, and consists of four movements:
Moderato cantabile
Allegro energico

The Chamber Symphony has usually been compared to his colleague Dmitri Shostakovich's Symphony No. 1, with Alex Ross pointing that the work has more personality and invention than anything by Shostakovich from the same period while lacking Shostakovich's rock-solid sense of form, his Beethovenian aura of inevitability. Also relating the work to Igor Stravinsky's Histoire du soldat and Paul Hindemith's Kammermusik, he praised the Largo as absolutely magical and the fast passages with its rhythmic surprises, unusual tonal combinations, nasty little dances that start and stop.
More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Popov
Video title: Chamber Symphony

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 2233
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos