Prince - New Power Generation

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Prince - New Power Generation (Official Music Video)


"New Power Generation", or "N.P.G.", is a song by American musician Prince from the 1990 album and film, Graffiti Bridge. It is an anthem for his backing band, The New Power Generation, who were officially co-credited on his album covers for a time, and continued to back him up until 2013, albeit with a changing lineup. The song saw minimal chart attention, and was not as successful as its predecessor, "Thieves in the Temple".

"N.P.G." is a funk number featuring drumming by Morris Day, and vocal help by Rosie Gaines. The funk is cut by some carnival-like organ playing and distorted guitar. The song is generally a positive message of overcoming odds. The part two continuation of the song features contributions from a number of artists, as well as samples of several unreleased songs. Tevin Campbell and Mavis Staples sing in part two, and a rap is delivered by T.C. Ellis. Unreleased songs sampled include "My Tree", "Oobee Doop", and "Positive Place".
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment