Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No.5 (Ramon van Engelenhoven)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


S. Prokofiev – Piano Concerto No.5 in G Op.55 

Ramon van Engelenhoven, piano
Noord Nederlands Orkest o.l.v. Pieter-Jelle de Boer

Ramon is the winner of the YPF Piano Competition 2015

Ramon van Engelenhoven (1995) began playing the piano on the age of six and currently studies at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam. In 2012 he got awarded the first prize at the Dutch Steinway & Sons Piano Competition, after which he represented his country at the International Steinway Festival in Hamburg, Germany. In 2013, he received the first prize at the national Princess Christina Competition.  In the same year he was also selected to represent the Netherlands at the final round of the Lions European Music Competition in Istanbul, Turkey.
Ramon regularly gives concerts and recitals in the Netherlands. He has performed in the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and played live for the Dutch Radio 4. He has also performed at the CIMA festival in Italy and participated in a tour to Greece at the invitation of the Princess Christina Competition. In 2014, he performed in the United States (Los Angeles, San Francisco) and Canada (Calgary, Vancouver) at the invitation of the Netherland America Foundation.

Opname: 22 november 2015 Finale YPF Piano Competition 2015


The last complete piano concerto by Sergei Prokofiev, Piano Concerto No. 5 in G major, Op. 55, dates from 1932.

Prokofiev's last piano concerto dates from 1932, a year after he finished the fourth piano concerto, whose solo part is for left hand only. According to the composer, he was then inspired to write another for two hands, whose intended simplicity was reflected in the desire to call it, not a concerto, but rather 'Music for Piano and Orchestra.' However, as the piece grew in complexity, Prokofiev decided to include it among his numbered concerti instead. It is in five short movements. The longest, a Larghetto, is around seven minutes in length. The remaining four movements are all in a fast tempo and feature virtuoso keyboard writing; the third movement, only around two minutes long, functions as a variation on the first.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Prokofiev
Video title: Piano Concerto No.5 (Ramon van Engelenhoven)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 3696
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos