Prokofiev - Violin Concerto No. 2 (Janine Jansen)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


REPOST (different version)

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) 'Violin Concerto No. 2, op. 63 in G minor'

01:11 I. Allegro moderato
12:29 II. Andante assai
22:31 III. Allegro, ben marcato

Janine Jansen (Violin)
Mark Elder (Conductor)
Radio Philharmonic Orchestra


The Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63, written in 1935 by Sergei Prokofiev, is a work in three movements:
Allegro moderato
Andante assai
Allegro, ben marcato

It premiered on 1 December 1935 in Madrid with the French violinist Robert Soetens and the Madrid Symphony Orchestra conducted by Enrique Fernández Arbós. Prokofiev wrote it after the first performance of his Sonata for Two Violins, by Soetens and Samuel Dushkin, which pleased him greatly. Dushkin had just recently had a concerto written for him, by Igor Stravinsky, so Prokofiev did the same for Soetens.[1] Prokofiev was on a concert tour with Robert Soetens while he was working on the concerto, and later wrote, "The number of places in which I wrote the Concerto shows the kind of nomadic concert-tour life I led then. The main theme of the 1st movement was written in Paris, the first theme of the 2nd movement at Voronezh, the orchestration was finished in Baku and the premiere was given in Madrid."

The Spanish had liked the premiere so much that they sent a delegation of musicians to thank Prokofiev afterwards.

The first two British performances of the concerto were again with Robert Soetens: in 1936 under Sir Henry J. Wood, and in 1938, under the composer. Soetens played the work many times, all over the world, concluding with the premiere performance in South Africa in 1972, when he was aged 75 (he continued appearing in public until age 95, and died in 1997, aged 100).

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Prokofiev
Video title: Violin Concerto No. 2 (Janine Jansen)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 14488
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos