Prokoviev - Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the October Revolution

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Prokoviev: The Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the October Revolution

Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest & Rotterdam Symphony Chorus o.l.v. Valery Gergiev:

Prokofjev - Cantate voor de twintigste verjaardag van de Oktoberrevolutie

Opname van 15 september 2017, Gergiev Festival Rotterdam


The Cantata for the 20th Anniversary of the October Revolution, Op. 74, is a cantata by Sergei Prokofiev.

In ten contrasting movements, the cantata relates the story of the Bolshevik Revolution and the birth of the Soviet Union, from the battle for the Winter Palace in 1917, through the suffering of 1918 and Lenin's funeral in 1924, to the building of factories and collective farms in the early thirties, and the final consolidation of Stalin's control over the country with his new constitution of 1936.

Begun by Prokofiev in 1936 on a generous commission from the All-Union Radio Committee and Prokofiev's friend Boris Gusman, it was finished the following summer. Prokofiev expected it to be part of the celebration of the 20th anniversary of the October Revolution of 1917. Due to the political climate towards artists in 1937, Prokofiev decided to assure his safety by withholding the work. The Cantata had to wait until May 1966 for its premiere, 13 years after Prokofiev's death. By this time Stalin was also dead and disgraced.

Previous examples of this type of patriotic cantata include Shock Brigade of the World Proletariat (1931–32) by Alexander Krein and To the Proletariat and Agricultural Symphony (1923) by Alexander Kastalsky.

Introduction: "A spectre is haunting Europe, the spectre of Communism"
Marching in Close Ranks
The Pledge
The Constitution

The music's extravagant sound palette combines a full orchestra with typically Russian choral writing, folk instruments and the sounds of marching, gunfire and sirens.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment