R. Strauss - Macbeth (hr-Sinfonieorchester, cond. Orozco-Estrada)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Strauss: Macbeth - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Andrés Orozco-Estrada

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra) 
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Dirigent 

Rheingau Musik Festival 2014 
Kloster Eberbach, 22. August 2014 

Website: http://www.hr-sinfonieorchester.de
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hrsinfonieorchester


Macbeth, Op. 23, is a symphonic poem written by Richard Strauss between 1886 and 1888. The work was his first tone poem, which Strauss described as "a completely new path" for him compositionally. Written in some semblance of sonata form, the piece was revised more thoroughly than any of Strauss's other works; these revisions, focused primarily on the development and recapitulation sections, show how much the composer was struggling at this point in his career to balance narrative content with musical form. Bryan Gilliam writes in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians that, "New path or not, Macbeth failed to find a firm place in the concert repertory, because it lacked the thematic cogency and convincing pacing of musical events so evident in the two antecedent works [Don Juan and Tod und Verklärung (Death and Transfiguration)]. And despite revisions to the orchestration, in an attempt to restrain inner voices and highlight principal themes, Macbeth still falls short of Don Juan and Tod und Verklärung in sonic clarity."
More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment