Rachmaninoff - Kolokola (The Bells)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Radio Filharmonisch Orkest
Groot Omroepkoor
Marina Rebeka, sopraan
Sergej Skorokhodov, tenor
Andrej Bondarenko, bas
James Gaffigan, dirigent

Rachmaninov - Kolokola (De Klokken)

Opname 18 september 2015 voor AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert in TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht.


The Bells (Russian: Kolokola), Op. 35, is a choral symphony by Sergei Rachmaninoff, written in 1913. The words are from the poem The Bells by Edgar Allan Poe, very freely translated into Russian by the symbolist poet Konstantin Balmont. The traditional Gregorian melody Dies Irae is used frequently throughout the work. It was one of Rachmaninoff's two favorite compositions, along with his All-Night Vigil, and is considered by some to be his secular choral masterpiece. Rachmaninoff called the work both a choral symphony and (unofficially) his Third Symphony shortly after writing it; however, he would later write a purely instrumental Third Symphony during his years in exile. Rachmaninoff dedicated The Bells to Dutch conductor Willem Mengelberg and the Concertgebouw Orchestra.
More information on this artist is available in the last.fm tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Rachmaninoff
Video title: Kolokola (The Bells)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 5816
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos