Richard Wagner - Parsifal - Act 3

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Parsifal is an opera in three acts by Richard Wagner. It is loosely based on Wolfram von Eschenbach's Parzival, the 13th century epic poem of the Arthurian knight Parzival (Percival) and his quest for the Holy Grail, and on Chrétien de Troyes' Perceval, the Story of the Grail.

Wagner first conceived the work in April 1857 but it was not finished until twenty-five years later. It was to be Wagner's last completed opera and in composing it he took advantage of the particular acoustics of his Bayreuth Festspielhaus. Parsifal was first produced at the second Bayreuth Festival in 1882. The Bayreuth Festival maintained an exclusive monopoly on Parsifal productions until 1903, when the opera was performed at the Metropolitan Opera in New York.

Wagner preferred to describe Parsifal not as an opera, but as "ein Bühnenweihfestspiel" - "A Festival Play for the Consecration of the Stage". At Bayreuth a tradition has arisen that there is no applause after the first act of the opera.

Wagner's spelling of Parsifal instead of the Parzival he had used up to 1877 is informed by an erroneous etymology of the name Percival deriving it from a supposedly Arabic origin, Fal Parsi meaning "pure fool".


Radio Filharmonisch Orkest
Groot Omroepkoor
Mannen van het Staatskoor 'Latvija'
Jaap van Zweden dirigent
Eberhard Friedrich koordirigent

Falk Struckmann bas-bariton
Ante Jerkunica bas
Robert Holl bas
Klaus Florian Vogt tenor
Krister St.Hill bariton
Katarina Dalayman sopraan
Brenden Gunnell tenor
Thilo Dahlmann bas-bariton
Julia Westendorp sopraan
Cécile van de Sant mezzosopraan
Jeroen de Vaal tenor
Pascal Pittie tenor
Anna Stephany mezzosopraan
Martina Rüping sopraan
Victoria Joyce sopraan
Silvia Vázquez sopraan
Ute Ziemer sopraan
Barbara Kozelj mezzosopraan

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment