Robert Schumann - Manfred (Dramatic Poem with Music in Three Parts)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Schumann: Manfred - Radio Filharmonisch Orkest en Groot Omroepkoor - Live concert HD

Het Radio Filharmonisch Orkest en Groot Omroepkoor o.l.v. Markus Stenz spelen Schumanns ‘Manfred’ in het AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert.

Radio Filharmonisch Orkest
Groot Omroepkoor
Markus Stenz [dirigent]
Franz Tscherne [verteller] en koorsolisten Pierrette de Zwaan, Charlotte Janssen, Lars Terray, Alan Belk, Ludovic Provost, Erks Jan Dekker, Itamar Lapid, Daphne Druijf, José Kamminga, Gert Jan Alders, Loes Groot Antink en Joep van Geffen

Het programma:
Robert Schumann: Manfred (toneelmuziek)

Opname: AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert, vrijdag 11 november 2016, in TivoliVredenburg te Utrecht.


Manfred: Dramatic Poem with Music in Three Parts (Opus 115) [German: Manfred. Dramatisches Gedicht in drei Abtheilungen], is a work of incidental music by Robert Schumann. The work is based on the poem Manfred by Lord Byron and consists of an overture, an entracte, melodramas, and several solos and choruses.

Written primarily in 1848, it was first performed at the Gewandhaus concert at Leipzig on March 14, 1852. The most highly regarded piece in the work is the Manfred Overture. Composer Hugo Wolf wrote that the work "has brought the essence, the focal point of the drama to plastic expression with the simplest strokes." Music historian Peter Ostwald wrote that the Overture was written during a time when Schumann was facing "exquisite suffering" from "inner voices," or auditory hallucinations.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is access here might be restricted to registered users only soon,
so please register (it's free anyway) and/or login

Post your comment

Artist: Robert Schumann
Video title: Manfred (Dramatic Poem with Music in Three Parts)
Please Rate:
  • Currently 1.00/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 1.0 out of 1 vote

Facebook Like & Comments
Share on/Post to Facebook
Category: Classical
Views: 1093
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

"Robert Schumann" info
@  @  @

New Music Videos
Kick Jump TwistSylvan EssoKick Jump Twist
CalifoneNo JoyCalifone
Come On InBlve HillsCome On In
CrawlGabriel Garzón-MontanoCrawl
Unleshed 2Lady LeshurrUnleshed 2
Your BetterParticipantYour Better
DarlingReal EstateDarling