Rossini - Petite messe solennelle

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Rossini: Petite messe solennelle - Groot Omroepkoor - Live concert HD

Rossini's 'Petite messe solennelle' door het Groot Omroepkoor o.l.v. Leonardo Garcia Alarcón.

Mariangela Sicilia [sopraan/soprano]
Diana Haller [mezzosopraan/mezzosoprano]
Philippe Talbot [tenor]
Nikolay Borchev [bas]
Wyneke Jordans [piano]
Leo van Doeselaar [piano]
Dirk Luijmes [harmonium]


1 - Kyrie - koor/chorus - 0:00

2 - Gloria in excelsis Deo - solisten en koor/soloists and chorus - 6:32
3 - Gratias agimus tibi - trio voor contra-alt, tenor en bas/trio for contralto, tenor and bass - 9:03
4 - Domine Deus - tenorsolo/tenor solo - 13:18
5 - Qui tollis peccata mundi - duet voor sopraan en contra-alt/duet for soprano and contralto - 19:14
6 - Quoniam tu solus sanctus - bas solo/bass solo - 25:28
7 - Cum Sancto Spiritu - koor/chorus - 32:45

8 - Credo in unum Deum - solisten en koor/soloists and chorus - 38:10
9 - Crucifixus - sopraansolo/soprano solo- 42:42
10 - Et resurrexit - solisten en koor/soloists and chorus - 46:29
11 - Preludio religioso (during offertory) - piano en harmoniumsolo/piano and harmonium solo - 55:47
(unnumbered) Ritornello: 9 measures for harmonium - harmonium - 1:05:15
12 - Sanctus - solisten en koor/soloists and chorus - 1:05:56
13 - O salutaris hostia - sopraansolo/soprano solo - 1:46:10
14 - Agnus Dei - contra-alt en koor/contralto and chorus - 1:16:29

Opgenomen/recorded: 17 april 2016, in het Concertgebouw te Amsterdam.


Gioachino Rossini's Petite messe solennelle ("Little Solemn Mass") was written in 1863 and described by the composer as "the last of my péchés de vieillesse" (sins of old age).

The witty composer, who produced little for public hearing during his long retirement at Passy, prefaced his mass - characterized, apocryphally by Napoleon III, as neither little nor solemn, nor particularly liturgical - with the words:
"Good God - behold completed this poor little Mass - is it indeed sacred music [la musique sacrée] that I have just written, or merely some damned music [la sacrée musique]? You know well, I was born for comic opera. Little science, a little heart, that is all. So may you be blessed, and grant me Paradise!"

Its first performance was at the dedication (14 March 1864) of the private chapel in the hôtel of Louise, comtesse de Pillet-Will, to whom Rossini dedicated this refined and elegant piece, which avoids the sentimental opulence of most contemporary liturgical works, such as those by Charles Gounod. Rossini specified twelve singers in all, with the soloists doubling the SATB chorus, and scored it for two pianos and harmonium. (The second piano plays only occasionally, and then merely doubles the first.) Among the first hearers were Giacomo Meyerbeer, Daniel Auber and Ambroise Thomas, who would succeed Auber as director of the Paris Conservatoire. Albert Lavignac, aged eighteen, conducted from the harmonium. The soloists were Carlotta and Barbara Marchisio, Italo Gardoni and Luigi Agnesi. It has been said that all this piece requires is a small hall, a piano, a harmonium, eight choristers and the four greatest singers on Earth.

Partly for fear that it would be done anyway after his death, Rossini discreetly orchestrated the Petite messe solennelle during 1866-67, without losing its candor and subtlety, and the resulting version had its first public performance on 28 February 1869, three months after the composer's death, and as close as could be to what would have been Rossini's seventy-seventh birthday -  at the Théâtre-Italien, Paris. That year both versions were published.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Rossini
Video title: Petite messe solennelle

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 2626
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos