Saint-Saëns - Cello Concerto No. 1 (hr-sinf., Gautier Capuçon, cond. Alain …

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Saint-Saëns: 1. Cellokonzert - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Gautier Capuçon - Alain Altinoglu

Camille Saint-Saëns:
1. Cellokonzert a-Moll op. 33 

Allegro non troppo – Allegro molto – Tempo I –
Allegretto con moto – Tempo I – Un peu moins vite –
Più allegro comme le premier mouvement – Molto allegro

hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony 
Gautier Capuçon, Violoncello 
Alain Altinoglu, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 14. Februar 2020 

Website: ;


Camille Saint-Saëns composed his Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 in 1872, when the composer was 37 years old. He wrote this work for the Belgian cellist, viola da gamba player and instrument maker Auguste Tolbecque. Tolbecque was part of a distinguished family of musicians closely associated with the Société des Concerts du Conservatoire, France's leading concert society. The concerto was first performed on January 19, 1873 at the Paris conservatoire concert with Tolbecque as soloist. This was considered a mark of Saint-Saëns' growing acceptance by the French musical establishment.

Sir Donald Francis Tovey later wrote "Here, for once, is a violoncello concerto in which the solo instrument displays every register without the slightest difficulty in penetrating the orchestra." Many composers, including Shostakovich and Rachmaninoff, considered this concerto to be the greatest of all cello concertos. 
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment