Schubert - Symphony No 4 (Langrée)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Franz Schubert
Symphony No 4 in C minor, D 417 'Tragic'

Orchestre de Paris
Louis Langrée

Paris, December 2014


Franz Schubert's Symphony No. 4 in C minor, D. 417, called by its composer the Tragic (German: Tragische), was completed in April 1816, a year after his Third Symphony, when he was 19 years old. It was not premiered, however, until November 19, 1849, in Leipzig, more than two decades after Schubert's death.

Schubert added the title Tragic to his autograph manuscript some time after the work was completed. It is not known why. It can be noted, however, that the symphony is one of only two he wrote (the Unfinished Symphony is the other) in a minor key. The scoring is for 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B-flat, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in A-flat, C and E-flat, 2 trumpets in C and E-flat, timpani and strings.

There are four movements, and a performance lasts around 30 minutes.

Adagio molto – Allegro vivace
Andante in A flat major
Menuetto. Allegro vivace – Trio in E flat major

The slow introduction is modeled after Haydn's The Representation of Chaos overture to The Creation oratorio. The opening theme of the Allegro of the first movement derives from the opening theme of Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet, Op. 18 No. 4 in the same key.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Schubert
Video title: Symphony No 4 (Langrée)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 2837
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos