Schubert - Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, D. 485 (Mantova Kamerorkest)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Zondagochtend Concert, 2 februari 2014, 11:00 uur

Mantova Kamerorkest
Alexander Lonquich, dirigent

F. Schubert Vijfde Symfonie, D.485
1797-1828 - Allegro
- Andante con moto
- Menuetto: allegro molto
- Allegro vivace


Franz Schubert's Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, D. 485, was written mainly in September, 1816 and completed on October 3, 1816. It was finished six months after the completion of his previous symphony.

Scored for one flute, two oboes, and two bassoons, along with two horns in B? and E? and strings. Of all of Schubert's symphonies, it is scored for the smallest orchestra. It is the only one of his symphonies which does not include clarinets, trumpets or timpani as part of the instrumentation.

In character, the writing is often said to resemble Mozart; Schubert was infatuated with the composer at the time he composed it, writing in his diary on June 13 of the year of composition, "O Mozart! immortal Mozart! what countless impressions of a brighter, better life hast thou stamped upon our souls!" This is reflected particularly in the lighter instrumentation, as noted above. Indeed, the instrumentation matches that of the first version (without clarinets) of Mozart's 40th symphony.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Schubert
Video title: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, D. 485 (Mantova Kamerorkest)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 12288
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos