Schumann - Piano Concerto (hr-Sinf., Khatia Buniatishvili, cond. Järvi)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Schumann: Klavierkonzert - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Khatia Buniatishvili - Paavo Järvi

I. Allegro affettuoso
II. Intermezzo. Andantino grazioso
III. Allegro vivace

Khatia Buniatishvili, Klavier - hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra)  
Paavo Järvi, Dirigent  

Rheingau Musik Festival 2012  
Wiesbaden, Kurhaus, 23. August 2012  



The Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54 was completed in the year 1845 and is the only piano concerto written by the German Romantic composer Robert Schumann. The work was premiered in Dresden on December 4, 1845.

Schumann had earlier worked on several piano concerti: he began one in E-flat major in 1828, from 1829–31 he worked on one in F major, and in 1839, he wrote one movement of a concerto in D minor. None of these works were completed.

Already on January 10, 1833, Schumann first expressed the idea of writing a Piano Concerto in A minor. In a letter to his future father-in-law, Friedrich Wieck, he wrote: "I think the piano concerto must be in C major or in A minor." From May 17 to 20 1841, Schumann wrote a fantasy for piano and orchestra, his Phantasie in A minor. Schumann tried unsuccessfully to sell this one-movement piece to publishers. In August 1841 and January 1843 Schumann revised the piece, but was unsuccessful. His pianist wife Clara then urged him to expand it into a full piano concerto. In 1845 he added the Intermezzo and Allegro vivace to complete the work. It was the only piano concerto that Schumann completed.

The premiere of the first movement (Fantasy) took place on August 13, 1841 in the Leipzig Gewandhaus with the soloist Clara Schumann. The complete 3-movement version was premiered in Dresden on December 4, 1845 again with Clara on the piano and the dedicatee Ferdinand Hiller as conductor. Less than a month later on January 1, 1846, the concerto was performed in Leipzig under the conductorship of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy.

More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment