Schumann - Szenen Aus Goethes Faust (Radio Philh. Orch., cond. Markus Stenz)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Schumann: Szenen aus Goethes Faust - Radio Philharmonic Orchestra / Markus Stenz - Live Concert HD

The Radio Philharmonic Orchestra, the Netherlands Radio Choir and the National Children's Choir perform the grand musical drama 'Szenen aus Goethes Faust' by Robert Schumann during the last AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert of the season. During this concert, conductor Markus Stenz said goodbye to his position as principal conductor of the Radio Philharmonic Orchestra. Out with a bang!

On the musical programme:
Robert Schumann - Szenen aus Goethes Faust

The musicians:
Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Netherlands Radio Choir
National Children’s Choir
Markus Stenz [conductor]
Peter Dijkstra [choir conductor Netherlands Radio Choir]
Wilma ten Wolde [choir conductor Children’s Choir]
Anna Lucia Richter [soprano]
Nikki Treurniet [soprano]
Dorottya Láng [mezzo-soprano]
Helena Rasker [alto]
Robin Tritschler [tenor]
Daniel Schmutzhard [baritone]
Franz-Josef Selig [bass]

Friday the 7th of June 2019 in de Grote Zaal of TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht.

Producer TivoliVredenburg: Bert Begeman
Producer AVROTROS: Manon Tuynman
Producer Radio Philharmonic Orchestra: Olga Brauers
Producer Netherlands Radio Choir: René Meulenberg
Producer Netherlands Children’s Choir: Leonie Masselink
Stage manager TivoliVredenburg: Laura Jonker
Lights TivoliVredenburg: Misha Pipercic
Audio technics: Frank Mathijssen
Musical direction: Myrthe van Dijk
Video direction: Bas Wielenga
Camera: Maarten Kool and Kristian Funke
Score direction: Ferenc Soeteman
Editor-in-chief AVROTROS: Anja van Keulen
Programming AVROTROS Vrijdagconcert: Astrid in ‘t Veld

© AVROTROS, NPO Radio 4, Stichting Omroepmuziek


Scenes from Goethe's Faust (Szenen aus Goethes Faust) has been described as the height of composer Robert Schumann's accomplishments in the realm of dramatic music. The work was written between 1844 and 1853 and is scored for SATB chorus, boys' chorus, orchestra, and a number of solo parts which, even with doubling, require seven solo singers, although eight (three sopranos, two mezzos, one tenor, one baritone, and one bass) is the usual number for a performance. Schumann never saw all three parts of the work performed in the same concert, or published together. Eric Sams comments 'There is no coherence in the orchestration, which audibly dates from two different periods (hand-horns in Part III, valve-horns elsewhere)', leading him to conclude that Schumann did not conceive the work as a whole, although late nineteenth-century ideas of performance mean that in the modern era the piece is predominantly heard with all three parts.

Scenes from Goethe's Faust has often been overlooked within Schumann's impressive oeuvre, but has enjoyed a resurgence since the 1970s. The piece has been deemed among Schumann's most moving works, and a pinnacle of his quintessential Romantic concern with the extra-musical (and especially literary) potential of musical expression.


Overture in D minor

Part One
Rendezvous in Martha's Garden - Du kanntest mich, o kleiner Engel (Faust, Gretchen, Mephistopheles)
Gretchen’s Address to the Mater Dolorosa - Ach neige, Schmerzenreiche (Gretchen)
In the Cathedral - Wie anders, Gretchen, war dir’s (Gretchen, Evil Spirit)

Part Two
Sunrise - Die ihr dies Haupt umschwebt im luftgen Kreise (Ariel, Spirits, Faust)
Midnight - Ich heiße der Mangel (Want, Guilt, Care, Need, Faust)
Faust's Death - Herbei herbei! herein herein! (Mephistopheles, Lemurs, Faust)

Part Three - Faust's Transfiguration
Waldung, sie schwankt Heran (Chorus)
Ewiger Wonnebrand (Pater Ecstaticus)
Wie Felsenabgrund mir zu Füßen (Pater Profundus, Pater Seraphicus, Chorus)
Gerettet ist das edle Glied (Angels, Chorus)
Hier ist die Aussicht frei (Doctor Marianus)
Dir, der Unberührbaren (Doctor Marianus, Magna Peccatrix, Mulier Samaritana, Maria Aegyptiaca, Penitent, Blessed Boys, Gretchen, Mater Gloriosa)
Chorus mysticus - Alles Vergängliche ist nur ein Gleichnis (Chorus)
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment