Shostakovich - Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk - Suite (hr-sinf., cond. Prieto)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Schostakowitsch: Lady Macbeth von Mzensk – Suite - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Carlos Miguel Prieto

Dmitrij Schostakowitsch:
Suite aus der Oper »Lady Macbeth von Mzensk« 
Zusammengestellt und bearbeitet von James Conlon 

I. Im Hof der Ismailows 
II. [ohne Titel] 
III. Gefährliche Spannung 
V. Katerina und Sergej I 
VIII. Katerina und Sergej II 
IX. Der Trunkenbold 
X. [ohne Titel] 
XI. Anrücken der Polizei 
XII. In der Verbannung 

hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony 
Carlos Miguel Prieto, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 28. Februar 2019 

Website: ;


Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District is an opera in four acts and nine scenes by Dmitri Shostakovich, his Opus 29. The libretto, jointly written by Alexander Preys and the composer, is based on the novel of the same name by Nikolai Leskov. (The opera is generally translated in English as Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk.)

Dedicated by Shostakovich to his first wife, physicist Nina Varzar, the roughly 160-minute opera was first performed on 22 January 1934 at the Leningrad Maly Operny, and on 24 January 1934 in Moscow. It incorporates elements of expressionism and verismo, telling the story of a lonely woman in 19th-century Russia who falls in love with one of her husband's workers and is driven to murder.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment