Shostakovich - Symphony No. 10 (hr-Sinfonieorch. cond. Skrowaczewski)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Schostakowitsch: 10. Sinfonie - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Stanis?aw Skrowaczewski

I. Moderato 
II. Allegro 
III. Allegretto 
IV. Andante - Allegro 

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra) 
Stanis?aw Skrowaczewski, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 6. September 2013 



The Symphony No. 10 in E minor (Op. 93) by Dmitri Shostakovich was premiered by the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra under Yevgeny Mravinsky on 17 December 1953, following the death of Joseph Stalin in March of that year. It is not clear when it was written: according to the composer's letters composition was between July and October 1953, but Tatiana Nikolayeva stated that it was completed in 1951. Sketches for some of the material date from 1946.

This symphony was Shostakovich's first symphonic work since his second denunciation in 1948. It thus has a significance somewhat comparable to that of the Fifth Symphony in relation to the 1936 first denunciation. In content and structure, the 10th Symphony is an example of Shostakovich’s synthesis of allusions to the symphonic tradition on the one hand, and encoded references to his own particular time and place on the other.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment