Shostakovich - Symphony No. 15 (hr-Sinfonieorch., cond. Orozco-Estrada)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Schostakowitsch: 15. Sinfonie - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Andrés Orozco-Estrada

I. Allegretto 
II. Adagio – Largo – Adagio – Largo 
III. Allegretto 
IV. Adagio – Allegretto – Adagio – Allegretto 

hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony 
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 7. September 2018 

Website: ;


The Symphony No. 15 in A major, Op. 141, Dmitri Shostakovich's last, was written in a little over a month during the summer of 1971 in Repino, outside St. Petersburg. It was first performed in Moscow on 8 January 1972 by the All-Union Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra under Maxim Shostakovich.

Ever the humourist, Shostakovich delighted in placing allusions to the works of himself and other composers in his work, and his Fifteenth symphony is particularly rich in quotations. In addition to the cryptic references to his own music, it includes an outburst of Rossini's William Tell Overture in the first movement (rehearsal figure 12); allusions to Mikhail Glinka and Gustav Mahler; and the use of Richard Wagner's Fate leitmotif from the Ring Cycle.

Most skilful is his manipulation of the longing leitmotif from Wagner's Tristan und Isolde at the end of the fourth movement. Beginning at rehearsal figure 113 in the first violin part, Wagner's famous motif of a rising minor sixth followed by a two-note chromatic descent grows organically out of Shostakovich's own theme: a quirky and grotesque reference to the composer's own sense of suffering at his late stage of life, stated towards the close of this semi-autobiographical work.

The composer said in conversation with his friend, Isaak Glikman: "I don't myself quite know why the quotations are there, but I could not, could not, not include them"
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment