Stravinsky - Violin Concerto (hr-Sinf., P. Kopatchinskaja, cond. Orozco-Est…

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Strawinsky: Violinkonzert - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Patricia Kopatchinskaja - Andrés Orozco-Estrada

I. Toccata 
II. Aria I 
III. Aria II 
IV. Capriccio 

hr-Sinfonieorchester (Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra) 
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Violine 
Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Dirigent 

Alte Oper Frankfurt, 12. Dezember 2014 

Website: ;


Igor Stravinsky's Violin Concerto in D is a neoclassical violin concerto in four movements, composed in the summer of 1931 and premiered on October 23, 1931. It lasts approximately twenty minutes.

It was used by George Balanchine as music for two ballets.

The Violin Concerto was commissioned by Blair Fairchild, an American composer, diplomat, and the patron of the young Polish violinist Samuel Dushkin (Stravinsky and Craft 1963, 79).

Willy Strecker of B. Schotts Söhne, Stravinsky's music publisher at the time (and also a friend of Dushkin's), asked Stravinsky to compose a concerto for Dushkin. Though Stravinsky was reluctant, citing unfamiliarity with the instrument, Strecker assured the composer that Dushkin would consult about technical matters (White 1979, 368). Stravinsky noted in his autobiography that Dushkin's availability for such advice was a factor in his undertaking the Violin Concerto (Stravinsky 1962, 165) He also sought the opinion of composer and violist Paul Hindemith, who allayed Stravinsky's fears, suggesting that his unfamiliarity with the instrument might help him come up with new possibilities. Stravinsky met with Dushkin at Strecker's residence in Wiesbaden and decided to go ahead.

Stravinsky began sketching the Concerto in Paris early in 1931, with composition beginning in earnest in Nice, where the first two movements were completed and the third begun. In the summer, Stravinsky moved to the Château de la Véronnière in Voreppe in Isère, where he completed the third movement and wrote all of the fourth.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment