Vivaldi - The Four Seasons (Festival d'Ambronay 2017)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


"Les 4 Saisons" de Vivaldi au Festival d'Ambronay 2017

Culturebox, l'offre culturelle à la demande de France Télévisions, vous propose de revivre en replay "Les 4 Saisons" de Vivaldi au Festival d'Ambronay 2017

Dmitry Sinkovsky dispose de nombreux talents. Pour ce concert consacré au compositeur italien Vivaldi, il nous montre tout ! Découvrez le chanter, jouer du violon et diriger l'ensemble qu'il a fondé en 2011 : La Voce Strumentale.


The Four Seasons (Italian: Le quattro stagioni) is a group of four violin concerti by Italian composer Antonio Vivaldi, each of which gives a musical expression to a season of the year. They were written around 1721 and were published in 1725 in Amsterdam, together with eight additional violin concerti, as Il cimento dell'armonia e dell'inventione ("The Contest Between Harmony and Invention").

The Four Seasons is the best known of Vivaldi's works. Unusual for the time, Vivaldi published the concerti with accompanying poems (possibly written by Vivaldi himself) that elucidated what it was about those seasons that his music was intended to evoke. It provides one of the earliest and most-detailed examples of what was later called program music—music with a narrative element.

Vivaldi took great pains to relate his music to the texts of the poems, translating the poetic lines themselves directly into the music on the page. In the middle section of the Spring concerto, where the goatherd sleeps, his barking dog can be marked in the viola section. Other natural occurrences are similarly evoked. Vivaldi separated each concerto into three movements, fast-slow-fast, and likewise each linked sonnet into three sections.
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment

Artist: Vivaldi
Video title: The Four Seasons (Festival d'Ambronay 2017)

Facebook: Like & Comments - Share on/Post to
Category: Classical
Views: 1591
Problems with this Video? Report This Video!

Terms Of Service - Google Privacy Policy

New Music Videos