Bruckner - Symphony No. 6 (hr-Sinfonieorch., cond. Eschenbach)

Lights off
Sorry, your favorites list is FULL.
Click this link to twitter this video (opens in a new window/tab)


Bruckner: 6. Sinfonie - hr-Sinfonieorchester - Christoph Eschenbach

Adagio. Sehr feierlich 
Scherzo. Nicht schnell – Trio. Langsam 
Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell 

hr-Sinfonieorchester – Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra 
Christoph Eschenbach, Dirigent 

Rheingau Musik Festival 2016 
Kloster Eberbach, 19. Juni 2016 



Symphony No. 6 in A major (WAB 106) by Austrian composer Anton Bruckner (1824–1896) is a work in four movements composed between September 24, 1879 and September 3, 1881 and dedicated to his landlord, Dr. Anton van Ölzelt-Newin. Though it possesses many characteristic features of a Bruckner symphony, it differs the most from the rest of his symphonic repertory. Redlich went so far as to cite the lack of hallmarks of Bruckner's symphonic compositional style in the Sixth Symphony for the somewhat bewildered reaction of supporters and critics alike.

According to Robert Simpson, though not commonly performed and often thought of as the ugly duckling of Bruckner's symphonic body of work, the Sixth Symphony nonetheless makes an immediate impression of rich and individual expressiveness: "Its themes are exceptionally beautiful, its harmony has moments of both boldness and subtlety, its instrumentation is the most imaginative he [Bruckner] had yet achieved, and it possesses a mastery of classical form that might even have impressed Brahms."
More information on this artist is available in the tabs below.


Pick and Click one of the menu tabs above for more artist info.

Or click the artist name tag above to go to the artist page.

All artist info on these pages is

Post your comment